Paradise Dam Improvement Project – Reference Group

Paradise Dam Improvement Project

Paradise Dam, Queensland

Sunwater is planning for a new Paradise Dam wall on the Burnett River after newly identified issues show that no amount of improvement work will fix the existing dam.

Paradise Dam Reference Group

The Paradise Dam Reference Group (PDRG) has been established to facilitate the exchange of information and ideas between key stakeholders and Sunwater while the Paradise Dam Improvement Project (PDIP) is implemented. The PDRG Terms of Reference was endorsed by members in November 2022.

The PDRG replaces and builds on the productive work of the Paradise Dam Community Reference Group (CRG) and Paradise Dam Industry Forum (PDIF) (more information on these two forums can be found here) and is a forum for discussions in relation to community safety, water security, cultural, social and economic and environmental values.

While Sunwater is now focused on planning for a new Paradise Dam wall by progressing a detailed business case, the reference group will remain. Sunwater will continue to engage with this group to facilitate the exchange of information and ideas between key stakeholders as plans for the new dam wall progress.

The PDRG held its first meeting on 7 July 2022.

The PDRG is led by Independent Chair Renée Madsen.

Meeting summaries

PDRG members

Stuart Randle* Bundaberg Regional Council (BRC) 
Gavin Steele^BRC
Les Hotz*North Burnett Regional Council (NBRC)
Sue Payne^NBRC
Anna Scott*NBRC
Carl Bacon^NBRC
Horst Feierabend*Bundaberg Chamber of Commerce
Kevin Edwards*Biggenden Chamber of Commerce
Mike Moller*Wide Bay Burnett Environment Council (WBBEC)
David Arthur* WBBEC
Denise Smith^WBBEC 
Misty Nielson*Burnett Catchment Care Association 
Nick McLean*First Nations Bailai, Gurang, Gooreng Gooreng, Taribelang Bunda (FNBGGGTB)
Daniel Reeves^FNBGGGTB
Winston Mi Mi*Wakka Wakka people
Dale Holliss*Bundaberg Regional Irrigators Group (BRIG)
Simon Doyle* BRIG
Ian Dart^BRIG
Mark Pressler^BRIG
Mark Mammino*Canegrowers Isis (CI)
Peter McLennan^CI
Joanne Hall^CI
Bree Watson*Bundaberg Fruit and Vegetable Growers (BFVG)
Craig Van Rooyen*BFVG
Russell McCrystal^ BFVG
Michael McMahon*Aust Macadamia Society (AMS)
Geoff Chivers*AMS
Angela Williams^ AMS 
Eric Carney* Avocados Australia
Lucy Philip*Avocados Australia
Will Thompson*Citrus Australia 
Nathan Hancock*Citrus Australia 
Sharon McIntosh*Queensland Farmers’ Federation (QFF)
* Member | ^ Proxy