Register now for SunWater emergency alerts

06 Aug 2014

The Honourable Mark McArdle MP
Minister for Energy and Water Supply

Residents and landholders who are downstream from SunWater dams are being asked to sign up to receive emergency alerts from the water supplier.

SunWater’s notification system has been designed to ensure that Queenslanders living immediately downstream of its dams have as much notice as possible to prepare should an emergency arise.

Water Minister Mark McArdle said residents can select to be notified of alerts via their preferred method of communication including email, telephone or SMS.

"With summer fast approaching, now is the time to start thinking about what actions people can take to get ready for severe weather events," Mr McArdle said.

"People living up to 10 kilometres downstream of SunWater dams should register to be included on SunWater's Emergency Action Plan (EAP) Notification List."

Residents who have registered previously do not need to register again.

Mr McArdle said the Queensland Government’s strong plan for the water sector – WaterQ – recognised that natural disasters and climate variability present unique challenges.

Registrations can be lodged on the SunWater website at or by calling SunWater’s Customer Support Team on 13 15 89 by Friday, 29 August, 2014.

SunWater dams include:

  • Tinaroo Falls Dam (Atherton)
  • Burdekin Falls Dam (Charters Towers)
  • Julius Dam (Mt Isa)
  • Peter Faust Dam (Proserpine)
  • Eungella, Teemburra and Kinchant Dams (Mackay)
  • Fairbairn Dam (Emerald)
  • Callide and Kroombit Dams (Biloela)
  • Cania Dam (Monto)
  • Paradise, Fred Haigh, Wuruma, Boondooma, Bjelke Petersen Dams (Bundaberg / Burnett)
  • Beardmore Dam (St George)
  • Coolmunda Dam (Inglewood)
  • Leslie Dam (Warwick).

For more information, visit

Media Enquiries

Phil Hind
Mobile 0437 334 183

Subscribe so you can receive SunWater's Latest News sent directly to your email address.